jump to navigation

Krankin March 2, 2012

Posted by Yvonne in Events.
trackback

I just now found out that a dear friend passed … 2.5 years ago … and I didn’t even know it till now.

How does that happen?

This morning I’m listening to some music he gave me… and just about to write him a note of thanks, was hunting for his email (since I just changed computers) when I found this

Bummer. Major. I’m feeling it.

Somehow I thought that he was always with me. That I could call and share anytime. That next time he was up in Berkeley he’d bring me those amazingly fragrant lilies for the dining room and complain that my piano was out of tune.

Conversations we’d had and trusting he was there kept me going through the sometimes very hard times of my first year in acting school. What he told me about being an artist and the encouragement he was for me in that world are immeasurable. Who he was as a dedicated artist. What he said to me about my gift. How he sang my poetry back to me and asked for more. How could I have lost touch with him in life so completely? Damn.

Too many dear ones, too far afield. And my days are too filled with “busyness” to be with all those whose memories pass my thoughts daily.

The world is suddenly much too large.

And the moments of connection much too infrequent.

I need a village.

Oh, the song I’m listening to  … over and over and over again for the last 3 hours? “People Get Ready”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

